The Castro LGBTQ Cultural District working group is composed of various committees that meet regularly to share updates and engage with the Castro community.

The Castro LGBTQ Cultural District is being created with the intent of preserving, sustaining, and promoting the LGBTQ history and culture of the broader Castro district. The creation of the Castro LGBTQ Cultural District will highlight the structures and sites important to this history; fostering racial, ethnic and cultural diversity among its residents and businesses; and creating a safe, beautiful, and inclusive space for LGBTQ and allied communities, from those who call this neighborhood home to those who visit it from around the world.
The Castro LGBTQ Cultural District is a living, breathing geographic and cultural area with rich political, social, economic, and historical significance to the LGBTQ community. The neighborhood has been recognized worldwide for nearly half a century as a beacon of LGBTQ liberty and an enclave for LGBTQ people to find safety, acceptance, and chosen family. The Castro has long drawn new residents and visitors from every corner of the globe who seek out the neighborhood because of its significance as a center of LGBTQ life.
The Castro LGBTQ Cultural District will help sustain this community and the Castro as a center of LGBTQ life. This is important for the movement as a whole, but also important for the Castro and for San Francisco.



Interested in joining a committee?

Email us at

Working Group


Shaun Haines, Co-Chair

Outreach Technology & Inclusion

Andrew Shaffer, Co-Chair
Shaun Haines, Co-Chair


Jesse Oliver Sanford, Chair


Moisés García, Co-Chair
Brad Joseph Chapin, Co-Chair

Interested in joining a committee?

Cultural Heritage Conservation (previously referred to as Historic Preservation)
To preserve, promote and develop cultural and historic buildings, businesses, organizations, traditions, arts, events and district aesthetics.
Tenant Protections
To protect tenants from displacement and promote affordable housing and home ownership.
• Arts and Culture
To attract and support artists and cultural enterprises that embody and promote the cultural heritage of the District.
Economic and Workforce Development
To promote employment, tourism and economic opportunities that stabilize the District’s economy and its residents.
Land Use
To create City regulations, tools and programs that support businesses and industries that advance the Cultural District.
Cultural Competency
To promote culturally competent and appropriate City services, policies and narratives.

Interested in joining a committee?

Email us at